Statement on new Labor Shadow Cabinet


Today I announce Labor’s front bench team that will be tasked with holding the Baird Government to account and developing fresh policies in the new parliament.

All of Labor’s Shadow Ministers are experienced parliamentarians, with no first-time MPs included on the front bench.

Labor’s Shadow Cabinet includes 17 Shadow Ministers – five less than Mike Baird’s current Cabinet of 22. 

Deputy Leader Linda Burney will assume responsibility for Education and Aboriginal Affairs.

Michael Daley will continue in the Treasury portfolio, as will Walt Secord in the Health portfolio.

Ryan Park will take on Transport and Infrastructure as well as continuing as the Shadow Minister for the Illawarra.

Subject to endorsement by the Labor Party for the vacant seat in the Legislative Council, Penny Sharpe will become Shadow Minister for Planning, the Environment and Heritage.

Having been successfully elected in Strathfield, Jodi McKay will continue in Shadow Cabinet with the new portfolios of Police as well as Roads, Maritime and Freight.

David Harris, Jodie Harrison and Clayton Barr will also join the Shadow Cabinet Team.

The regions will also continue have representation around Labor’s Shadow Cabinet table – with Shadow Minister’s for the Hunter, Central Coast, Illawarra, the North Coast and Western NSW. 

This is in stark contrast to the Liberals and Nationals who recently removed representation for the regions from their Cabinet – downgrading them to Parliamentary Secretary positions.

Labor will also have a raft of Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries to assist the Shadow Cabinet.  As a result Ernest Wong will be Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition.

New MP for Kogarah Chris Minns will Chair Labor’s newly formed Wastewatch Committee – and will be supported by Rockdale MP Steve Kamper.

A host of new and energetic Labor MPs will take on extra responsibility as Parliamentary Secretaries to the Shadow Cabinet with a focus on holding the government to account and supporting the work of the Shadow Cabinet.

These include new MPs Prue Car, Yasmin Catley, Anoulack Chanthivong, Jihad Dib, Jo Haylen and Kate Washington, as well as Newcastle MP Tim Crakanthorp.

Quotes attributable to Opposition leader Luke Foley:

“I lead a re-energised Labor Team with a passion to do great things for NSW.

“My experienced Shadow Cabinet team will be working tirelessly to hold the government to account, ensuring fair representation for all in NSW.

“The regions of the Hunter, Central Coast, Illawarra, the North Coast and Western NSW will have a voice around Labor’s Shadow Cabinet table.

“This is in stark contrast to the Liberals and Nationals, who last week removed their voices from around their Cabinet table.

“A host of talented new MPs will also have an opportunity to cut their teeth as Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries and on the Wastewatch Committee. It’s important the future stars of the Labor Party are given an opportunity to find their feet in the Parliament and have a solid start to very bright careers.”

Full list of Shadow Cabinet, Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries and Wastewatch Committee.